To Love God and To Love People

‘Teacher, which is the great commandment in the Law?’ And he said to him, ‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment. And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. On these two commandments depend all the Law and the Prophets.'” – Matthew 22:36-40

Greetings Brothers and Sisters,

Hope this new update finds you well! Thank you so much for your prayers and encouragement. God has been doing so many good things in the hearts of my team and I and continuing to grow us and prepare us for what He will call us to do in the upcoming weeks.

This passage spoken from Christ has been a good encouragement for me the past few days. I am praying that this summer would be an opportunity for me to grow in my love for God and for His people. Jesus calls us to love the Lord with all of who we are, in our hearts, in our thoughts, in our actions, and in our words. This is a tall order, for those of us still living in the sinful flesh. But grace be to our God that He has sent us the Holy Spirit to convict us and turn us to repentance in our sin and shortcomings. Jesus calls us to love other people with the love in which Christ loves us. This is another tall order for us, but it is something that I can always work on, since I can never be perfect at it.

Can you pray along with me for my team and I that we would ask Him for help to have our heart’s desires be to truly love Him and love other people and that we would grow in this love this summer?

Praises:

  • We finally got to meet the students in BEST club at Chuo University this past Friday. They are a great group of students, all of whom are nonbelievers. But they are beautiful people, created in God’s image. They have been a breath of fresh air, loving and welcoming my team and I into their community and showing so much joy that we are here to spend the summer with them.
  • I have gotten to see and experience the Japanese culture and talk with some students about the differences between Japanese and American culture.
  • Some of my teammates from the UCSD campus and I were able to reconnect with two Japanese students that God brought to us this past school year, Mei and Honami. It was a beautiful time of fellowship and a unique blessing to be shown around Tokyo by locals.

Prayer Requests

  • For endurance and patience for myself, as the language barrier is difficult and as it can get tiring to focus on understanding Japanese conversations.
  • For my team and I to continue our pursuit in loving God and loving people. Prayer that we would not neglect our own personal spiritual growth amidst business of activities and that we would continue to see the work we do through Japanese eyes. Prayer that our love for these students would come from the Lord, because if we try and love these students on our own love, it will quickly run out.
  • For time with students, that they would ultimately see God and his love and see the hope and joy we have in our lives because of the Gospel.
  • For team unity, for our team bible study times and team unity times each week. Prayer that these times would be fruitful and a refreshing time of fellowship among our brothers and sisters that we are serving and laboring alongside of.

Thank you again for your prayers, for our God is a powerful God, for which nothing is too difficult. What a joy and blessing it is to know that brothers and sisters are praying for my team and I! Have a wonderful rest of your week!

2 thoughts on “To Love God and To Love People

  1. Dear Kayleen,
    We are praying for you. Thank you for sharing! I can already see how the Lord is blessing you because of this step of faith. He is faithful, for sure! :)

Leave a Reply

