You Can Get Back Up

I recently had another basketball game this weekend. In a high school girl’s basketball game, on any level, is pretty chaotic. A lot of times, there’s a lot of pushing, shoving, elbowing, and ultimately falling over. Yesterday, I can’t even recall how many times I fell over. Sometimes I fell down and it’s painful; but other times it wasn’t as painful.

The first couple of times I fell down, I didn’t want to get up because it either reasonably hurt or I was embarrassed because someone had just knocked me over. However, all I could hear was my coach telling me to get up because my team needed me. Then, every time after I fell down, I knew that I needed to get back up.

A lot of times we fall down because trials and life get to us. I can personally get so discouraged that I can’t find any reason to get up and continue on. You might tell me that if you can do it in a basketball game, you should be able to do it with anything. But, for me and probably many others, it’s not that easy.

When you’re put down by friends, coworkers, teachers, or family, it’s hard to find the confidence to get back up and show that you’re not weak.

“Though some must fall, or fall to rise again, Time watches all things steadily-”

– Chorus (“Oedipus at Colonus”)

In “Antigone” from Sophocles’s Oedipus trilogy, Antigone went to bury her brother after he had just died even though King Creon forbid anyone from doing so. She was beat down by him and called her a traitor for deliberately disobeying his new law. However, she didn’t let Creon’s words stand in her way of her standing up for what she thought was right.

Antigone’s confidence despite how Creon had put her down is very encouraging and inspirational. She makes me want to have that same confidence too. I have learned to get up in a basketball game; but knowing how well Antigone reacted makes me want to have the confidence to get back up in any circumstance.

I hope that you too can be inspired by Antigone’s ability to get back up and that you can fight life’s trials with confidence and find ways to get back up if you feel you have no strength left to do it.

2 thoughts on “You Can Get Back Up

  1. This is really inspiring to me! It kind of goes with my blog post about failure. I really like how you used your experiences and incorporated the Sophocles books into them!

Leave a Reply

