Faced with Death? No Problem!

“I wanna live like there’s no tomorrow. Love like I’m on borrowed time. It’s good to be alive.”

-Jason Gray “It’s Good to be Alive”

What would you do if your doctor told you that you have been diagnosed with cancer and you only had six to twelve months left to live? Just think about what you would do before you continue reading.

How would you react? What emotions would you be feeling?

Would you change what you did everyday and how you acted towards others? Would you frantically try to do everything that you haven’t done yet? Would you ask “Why me?” and just be depressed about your situation?

Or would you live life as it is and be grateful for every moment you have left?

I bet you probably wouldn’t pick the last option. You probably wouldn’t have your life reflect the song lyrics above either. You would most likely go out and try to do everything you’ve always wanted to do.

I have an auntie that I have gotten to know especially well over the last couple of years. She has become very close to me and she is almost like another mother.

Even though she doesn’t have that much longer to live on this Earth, she is the most joyful person I have ever seen. She obviously knows that she doesn’t have a lot of time left. But, is she afraid? No, absolutely not!

This auntie of mine isn’t stressing out about all the things she needs to do before she passes away. Instead, she’s worrying about being joyful and grateful for every day she has and enjoying the time with her family and friends. She is living and showing love to her children, husband, family and friends like she is going to die tomorrow. On top of that, every moment that she is still here she is always saying how grateful she is for what time she has left and indirectly saying how good it is to be alive.

I don’t think I would ever be able to deal with life in a manner like that. I would be the one that’s stressing out trying to accomplish everything I’ve always wanted to do. That’s why I wanted to blog about her story because her lifestyle in this tough situation is so encouraging.

Despite her struggle with cancer and her limited life left that she has to live, she still puts the biggest smile on her face. She has become such an inspiration to the many people that she knows and loves. Of the many people that she has encouraged and uplifted with her story, I think I am one of the people that she has affected the most.

She encourages me not to worry about every little thing in life but to be grateful for every moment and blessing I am given. She uplifts me and makes me realize that I don’t need to be so anxious and stressed out about the troubles that I go through in life. And she inspires me to always have a smile on my face and inspire others to share that same joy.

I believe that it’s so important that we have that one person that inspires us to share contagious encouragement. And that person who inspires me so greatly is this auntie of mine.

2 thoughts on “Faced with Death? No Problem!

  1. Thank you so much for this post. I would most likely do the same thing as you and try to frantically do everything I want to before I die, but your auntie has really moved me, and I hope I can continue to live like her. Also, my dad has cancer, but hopefully, his recent treatment will cure it. I will really pray for your auntie. I really admire you, your auntie, and the strength of your family. <3

    • I’m so glad that you were encouraged and uplifted by my auntie’s story. Having a close friend or family member with cancer is so tough. I wish the best for your dad! Your positive attitude about your dad’s cancer encourages me too!

Leave a Reply

